My Favorite Poem from Love & Misadventure

To choose from Lang Leav’s collection of poems about love and misadventure (misadventures in love? love being a misadventure?) is definitely NOT easy.

Her poems are easy to read and to understand. I hate it when poems are too… mysterious in their meanings. I feel like the best poems are simple and affecting. That’s my personal taste.

I have to admit though, I am more of a story than a poem kind of girl. Which is why, I appreciate poetry that tells a story. A story written in prose.

Okay, I’ll cut to the chase – in the many poems in this book, this is the one I liked best:

Rogue Planets

…because, it IS beautiful. I especially loved the part how she repeated the same thought from the last line of the first stanza to the last line of the poem.

And reading that second stanza? Wow, it was like everything was going faster and faster and I was sure there would be an explosion, a rogue planet crashing into earth, a major catastrophe – and then “at one, you ask me to stay.”

What an end. What a poem.

There are many of these in this book, and different people will be affected differently by the different poems. But I sure would recommend this book, because at some point in all our lives, we’ve had love and/or we’ve had misadventures.

title

Definitely a 4 out of 5.
To believing in love, despite the misadventures, 😉

One thought on “My Favorite Poem from Love & Misadventure

Leave a Reply

